top of page

About Brickell Literary Society

Celebrating over 30 years of luncheons and literary camaraderie!

Each season of Brickell Literary Society brings a wonderful variety of acclaimed authors speaking on topics of great relevance and interest. Members receive a copy of the author’s book and enjoy the author's talk, with a Q&A, all in an intimate setting. 


Since 1988, we have hosted more than 200 authors—novelists, historians, memoirists, journalists, poets, and playwrights—ranging from seasoned veterans to bright young talents.


Past seasons have included authors such as Salman Rushdie, winner of the Mann Booker Prize and the National Book Award; Adam Johnson, who won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2013; and George Saunders, who claimed the PEN/Malamud Award, the Folio Prize, and a MacArthur “Genius Grant.” 

Meet book lovers just like you, enjoy talks with notable authors, receive signed books, and much more. There has never been a better time to become a member of the Brickell Literary Society. 

Board of Directors


Debra Scholl, Chair

Elizabeth Coppolecchia, Vice Chair

Raphael Bastian, Secretary

Patrick Lunn, Treasurer


Nancy Ancrum

Debra Frank

Peter Gorski

Diane Grob

James M. Herron

Michael Lewis

Pam Rogers


Debbie Hirshson

Mitchell Kaplan

Leila Kight

Patricia M. Papper

In Memoriam

The Honorable Marcia G. Cooke, 1/27/2023

bottom of page